Business & Career Library

Business Resources: Personal Investment Resources

General Company Information

Annual Guide to Stocks
Previously only available in print at the Business Library, we now subscribe to the online version. You may search for either obsolete or existing stocks using a CUSIP number, a stock symbol, or the name of the company. Online version available only at the Business Library with the assistance of a librarian.

Standard & Poor's Corporation Records
Concise company information under four subject headings: capitalization, corporate background, stock data and earnings and finances. Separate volumes for current news, daily updates and cumulative index. 
 
Mergent/Moody's Industrial Manual
Mergent/Moody's OTC Unlisted Manual
Both resources give the same type of information arranged in the same way. The industrials include NYSE and AMEX stocks. The OTC manual is a source for over-the-counter firms. Each entry includes information on the company's history, business, properties and financials. Updated with monthly news reports. 
 
Security Owner's Stock Guide (Standard & Poor's)
Compact, pertinent financial information on more than 7,000 equities. This monthly resource is arranged in a grid format that includes information on institutional holdings, stock price range, sales figures, dividend information and financial situation. 
 
Bond Guide (Standard & Poor's)
Like the S&P stock guide, this resource gives a concise and compact overview and comparative data on more than 7,700 bonds. It includes more than 6,800 domestic issues and 560 Canadian and foreign bonds and 320 convertible issues.

Evaluative Investment Information

Morningstar® Investment Research Center
(available only in the Business Library with the assistance of a librarian)

This resource will help with your investment decisions. It offers up-to-date independent analysts' opinions and in-depth data on thousands of stocks, mutual funds and exchange-traded funds. In addition, it provides the same concise reports that are found in the print version of Morningstar Mutual Funds.

Morningstar Mutual Funds
(online version only available at the Business Library with the assistance of a librarian)
The standard bearer of mutual fund assessment resources. Like the Value Line Investment Service, Morningstar gives a one-page overview mutual funds. Historical fund data is accompanied by narrative examining past and current performance of the fund, and musings on the future. A star system is used for ranking purposes.

Standard & Poor's Stock Reports
Comprehensive two-page reports that contain detailed information on the income, balance sheet, earnings and more on over 3,500 companies. Full descriptions of business, comments on product lines, management and recent developments. Also includes S&P opinion using a star rating system. Quantitative evaluation is summarized as well. Computes the value of $10,000 had you invested in the company stock five years ago. 

Financial Newspapers

The Wall Street Journal
A must-read daily focusing on the doings of the American and global economies, the business community, stock markets, industries and business executives. Stock and mutual fund tables appear daily, as do foreign exchange rates, Treasury bill and note information, bond prices and other essential financial and related data. Full text of articles available through ABI/Inform Research.

The New York Times
Has a two-part daily business section (one domestic, the other world) covering top stories about the economy and business. Includes the obligatory stock and mutual fund tables on a daily basis. Timely articles on significant events in industry, economy and specific companies. Also includes exchange rate tables, bond, bills and notes rates.

Investor's Business Daily
Founded by professional investor William O'Neil, IBD is dedicated to the serious investor and to O'Neil's investing philosophy. The stock tables include a "smart select" composite rating to help the reader choose stocks using O'Neil's methodology. Ratings are based on earnings per share, relative price strength, industry group relative price strength, sales and profit margins, and accumulation and distribution of shares. Includes in-depth company news, profiles and interviews with executives along with lots of stats.

Financial Times
The London Financial Times subtitles itself the "World Business Newspaper," and it lives up to its name. Its easy-to-spot salmon-colored pages are filled with daily international business news events along with stock tables that cover world markets. London markets get the most coverage.

Barron's
The weekly financial newspaper published by the Dow Jones & Company is considered by many to be essential reading for the serious investor. Alan Abelson's column may be the most respected overview of weekly market events and trends for the layperson and professional community alike. Barron's covers national and international markets. Excellent easy-to-read tables and various prognostications of market movements. Full text of articles available through ABI/Inform Research

Financial Magazines

These periodicals are available as reference in the Business Library. Most of them are also available through Business Source Premier or ABI/Inform Research, including the full text of back issues.
 
BusinessWeek
Forbes
Fortune
These three pillars of information on business in America include in-depth articles on the economy, industries, companies and the people who run them. All are invaluable for the individual investor.  
 
Kiplinger's Personal Finance
Money
SmartMoney
These are just three of the very popular easy-to-read personal finance magazines. All are accessible to the layperson and each covers topics such as investing, retirement planning, estate planning, tax tips and even vacation destinations (and how to afford them). Profiles CEOs, well-known investors and just plain folk trying to make a buck.

Financial Newsletters

Bob Brinker's Marketimer
Brinker opens with a lengthy and detailed discussion of current events and trends in the economy and the financial markets. He recommends both mutual funds and individual equities and has created three model portfolios that reflect his theories. 
 
The Chartist
First published in 1969, The Chartist  is a semimonthly newsletter that profiles advice on both long and short term investment. Every issues gives an overview of the state of the stock market and an analysis of various industry groups. Features include a readers Q & A, a selection of opinions expressed in other investment newsletters and model portfolios for long- and short-term investors. 

Grant's Interest Rate Observer
Incisive market commentary from Wall Street's most famous and erudite contrarian. Read it weekly, if for no other reason than to experience Grant's excellent writing and dry, intelligent wit.

Investor's Guide to Closed-End Funds
Thomas Herzfeld, closed-end fund guru par excellence and the publisher of this newest addition to our growing financial newsletter collection, writes a detailed introduction to each month's edition of Investor's Guide to Closed-End Funds. This general overview highlights significant trends in the industry, information and analysis of specific closed-end funds and insights into subjects like tax selling, expense ratios and related statistics. The balance of this lengthy newsletter is devoted to closed-end fund performance rankings and surveys, dividend declarations and model portfolios.

Michael Murphy's New World Investor
Well-known pundit Michael Murphy follows technology and biotech industries and individual stocks. He reviews the market and his long narrative discussions explain the reasoning behind his picks. The newsletter is published twice a month.

No-Load Fund Investor
Sheldon Jacobs spearheads this very popular market report on no-load (no commission) mutual funds. Gives an overview on no-load fund events, comparative list of fund performance and creates no-load portfolios for all occasions.

One Hundred Highest Yields
This weekly roundup of institutions offering the best rates on money market accounts, short-term and long-term CDs and mini-jumbo and jumbo CDs is a perennial favorite at the Business Library. It includes information on minimum deposit requirements, rates, annual percentage yields and time frames. Also evaluates, by use of a star rating, the financial condition of the federally insured institutions.

Outstanding Investor Digest
Published bimonthly, "more or less," OID contains excerpts of exclusive in-depth interviews with high caliber money managers like Warren Buffett and his partner Charlie Munger.  Enhancing these discussions are comments by these investment luminaries made during their annual meetings, special events and in their most recent letters to shareholders and private clients.  It is as "inside" as inside can get without tripping over the law. 

The Prudent Speculator
Describes itself in its motto as "combining prudence and selection for profits and tranquility."  This monthly newsletter, published by Forbes, aims to take some of the risk out of investing by adhering to a cautious and thoughtful approach to evaluating equities. In each issue TPS highlights a stock of the month, reviews the equity holdings of their current portfolios and recommends stocks for purchase and sale. You can follow their track record by reading their "Performance Scoreboard," which they bravely publish on the last page of every edition. 

Standard & Poors The Outlook
Weekly market overview and opinion from a stock market mainstay. S&P's respected analysts evaluate stocks using a star rating system, create model portfolios and maintain level heads in times of market downturns. Mutual fund recommendations are also in the offering. 

Vickers Weekly Insider
Published by Argus Research Company, Vickers Weekly Insider documents stock trades by corporate insiders (officers, directors and direct or beneficial owners of 10% or more stock) of public companies listed on the NYSE, NASDAQ and the ASE. All of the information included in Vickers is prepared from Form4s released by the SEC and includes the names of the insiders, how many shares of stock bought or sold, the price of the transaction and the number of shares that person holds currently. The newsletter also includes commentary by Argus reviewing insider trading activity for the week and the economic climate in general.

Web Resources

The following are a select number of websites chosen to suit the needs of both the experienced investor and the novice. All offer stock quotes and news items. Some of the sites, such as investopedia.com and motleyfool.com, have informative tutorials to help the beginner get started in money management and investing.

www.bigcharts.com
www.bloomberg.com
http://finance.aol.com
www.hedgeworld.com
www.investopedia.com
www.kiplinger.com
www.morningstar.com
www.mortgageloan.com/calculator/
www.mortgageloan.com/finance-glossary
www.motleyfool.com
www.quicken.com
www.quote.com
www.smartmoney.com
www.wallstreetcity.com
finance.yahoo.com